Home » Interviews » Coffee Break with Beth Stabley of Bows by Beth

Coffee Break with Beth Stabley of Bows by Beth

Beth, Rachel, & Jason.

Beth, with her daughter Rachel, & her husband Jason.

1.  Easy questions first:

Favorite Family Activity?

My favorite family activity is anything we all do together.  Seriously!  Even grocery shopping can be fun if Jason (my husband), Rachel (my daughter), and I are doing it together!  This time of year, I especially enjoy finding and cutting our own Christmas tree.

Favorite Holiday?420605_271232116286040_2110785826_n

I LOVE Christmas!!!  I look forward to it all year long!

Favorite place to shop for craft supplies?

I love shopping at Hobby Lobby, but we don’t have one locally.  So, I do a lot of craft shopping at JoAnn Fabrics, Michaels, or online.

Favorite charity to support?

Jason amd I have 3-4 missionaries that we support on a regular basis.  The one closest to our hearts would probably be the Village of Hope in Zambia (http://www.akcli-voh.org/ or https://www.facebook.com/?ref=tn_tnmn#!/pages/Villages-of-Hope-Zambia ).  Jason and I had the privilege of visiting Zambia twice to help with the work at the Village.  It’s so special to see these orphans become a new family at the Village.

2.  Your bows are so cute and creative, how did you get started?

I decided to make bows for my daughter to wear.  As she got older and started having hair, I wanted cute things to put in it.  After buying a few bows, I realized how easy it would be to make them myself.  As she started wearing my creations, friends and family started asking for me to make the bows for them.  Bows by Beth took off from there.

313941_348618008547450_1008553678_n3.  Is it difficult to create a bow?

It depends on the style.  Some bow styles are very simple and easy to make.  There are other styles that I’m still struggling with creating accurately.

4.  How did you learn how to make bows?

I spent a TON of time looking at tutorials online.  Google and Youtube became my best friends.  I also found some bow-making groups on Facebook.

5.  What made you want to open up your own online store?

Having a Facebook Page gives my customers a place to look at my products and communicate with me.  As my business grows, it also keeps my business and personal pages separate.  I’m also hoping to establish a store through Storenvy or Craft Café in the near future.

6.  What products in your store would people find?

I carry “accessories for women of all ages”.  Along with my hairbows/clips, I’ve started creating brooches, necklaces, and headbands.

7.  You created two amazing Star Wars bows last year, if someone wanted a geeky bow could they have that custom 579912_316998098376108_47603507_nmade?

Of course!  Most of my work is custom.  I don’t carry a lot of ready-to-ship items.  I LOVE creating unique & personal items for my customers!

8.  For anyone looking to sell their own crafting products what advice would you give?

Take time to think through your goals.  Do you want this to be a business or hobby?  How much time do you want to devote?  I would also recommend saving up some money to start with.  That way you’re not relying on customer sales to purchase more materials.

9.  How do you balance work, being a parent/wife, crafting, and blogging?

I don’t.  LOL!  I’m still learning how to balance everything to be the best wife, mother, and crafter I can be.  It’s a challenge, but Jason and I work on it together.

10.  What does Indie Girl mean to you and would you consider yourself an Indie Girl?

For me, Indie Girl is my dear friend, Kristy Trowbridge.  She’s a super-special, one-of-a-kind person and I’m so glad I get to call her my sister!  I don’t know that I’d consider myself an Indie Girl, though.  Maybe I am and don’t even know it. 🙂

376380_218776278198291_639706320_n

I had Beth custom make my Star Wars bows. I love them!

You can find Elizabeth’s store Bows By Beth by clicking here: http://www.facebook.com/BowsbyBeth

Christmas Contest!

Simply post a comment below or retweet this to @supergirlgeek and you could win a $10.00 Gift Certificate (Does Not include shipping cost) to Bows By Beth. Let Beth design a custom bow for you!

Written By: Kristy Trowbridge

5 thoughts on “Coffee Break with Beth Stabley of Bows by Beth

  1. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

Leave a Reply

