Home » Thoughts » The Curse of Facebook and Twitter

The Curse of Facebook and Twitter

v65oai7fxn47qv9nectxThis may sound strange but, I think many of our social media outlets are destroying our creativity, imagination, and time. Not to say that we shouldn’t use these outlets, (I mean we have to make sure we are embracing new technologies), but, I have found that in my own life I spend far too much time on Facebook and Twitter when I should be working on writing or spending time with my family.

I had recently lost my iPhone and was without it for several days. At first I wasn’t sure how I was going to handle this, but, in the end I found that I enjoyed my time without it. I began to realize how much time I waste on the internet. Here was my daily routine: wake up check Facebook, Twitter, then my email, I would then check them at least every 20 min or so during the day, and then again before I fell asleep. It actually scared me how I filled up my time doing this.

The amount of time I could be, working (you know that job that pays your bills) or writing I was spending tweeting or reading tweets. This is when I think our creativity is destroyed. We spend so much time reading things like, Justin Bieber’s new tattoo or George Lucas grows a tomato garden, that  we aren’t focusing on our own creativity our own work.

At the end of the day, it seems that I filled my head with such useless bits of information I couldn’t come up with story lines or characters of my own. It’s hard enough to cultivate an imagination as an adult, but, even harder now that I have useless bits of information floating inside my head. What would happen if we left our computers and phones at home and sat on a park bench with just a pad and a pencil? Would we be able to focus our imagination to create something?tweeting-too-much

Maybe I’m the only person who has felt drained by these social media websites. There are days that I just want to delete the apps off my phone, but, then I go on a guilt trip when I’m not paying attention to tweets or posts.  I feel like I spend more time with my phone then with my own family. We have such a short time on earth why am  I spending it on my phone?!

There are good things to these social media outlets. For any blogger, Twitter and Facebook are great ways to advertise what you’ve published. They are also great ways to meet new friends. I have had the pleasure of getting to know people all over the United States and around the world. So, I am in no way suggesting that a person should not enjoy the benefits of such social media outlets. That would be stupid of me not to see their benefits. I feel in my own life though, it’s time for me to cut back and not become dependent on these outlets.  A quote from Gandalf of the Lord of the Rings sums it up; “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

Written By: Kristy Trowbridge

2 thoughts on “The Curse of Facebook and Twitter

  1. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined
    your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  2. This is very true. I try to turn off the social media when I need to work on something or spend time with family and friends. But when I am online I can easily get sucked into things I really don’t need to be reading. I’ve been slowly trying to work on that. Social Media and blogs can inspire me though. I find a lot of motivation in random places online.

Leave a Reply

