Home » In 250 Words or Less » In 250 Words or Less.

In 250 Words or Less.

32164_10200444428770868_1453252800_n

© Kristy Trowbridge, 2012

Valentine’s Day is one strange overhyped holiday. I’m not a bitter single person, but even if I had a significant other I would still find Valentine’s Day to be stupid. Really, the entire holiday revolves around purchasing paper hearts, chocolate, and giant teddy bears.

Can we really call Valentine’s Day a holiday anyway? Any holiday in which you still have to go to work is not a holiday. I’ll say, “Happy Valentine’s Day”, to you all you want as long as I can wear my PJs and stay in my bed hair.

Also, what’s the deal with this Valentine’s candy?  I just worked off a whole month’s worth of Christmas fudge and now rows of chocolate hearts are staring at me. If Valentine’s Day was celebrated by purchasing bags of coffee for your loved one, now that would be an awesome holiday!

Don’t even get me started on those giant teddy bears!  Where in the world do you store those things? If I slept with one on my bed it would just be my luck the thing would land on top of me and suffocate me in my sleep. I could just imagine the headlines, “Local girl smothered by giant stuffed bear half her size.”

Valentine’s Day is not a holiday I care to celebrate and I don’t mind being called the Scrooge of Valentines. If you love someone tell them and show them daily, not just once a year with overpriced holiday stuff.

Written By:  Kristy Trowbridge

One thought on “In 250 Words or Less.

  1. Yes! I agree with all of this! All me and my Mr. do on Valentine’s day, is just try to spend time together. We make a point of having dinner together at home and that’s about it. The bears, flowers, chocolates… it’s all ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

