Home » In 250 Words or Less » In 250 Words or Less

In 250 Words or Less

MH900446440

“Yoga has a sly, clever way of short circuiting the mental patterns that cause anxiety.” – Baxter Bell

I’ve been practicing yoga for over four years now.  It all started with a Yoga DVD and a mat that I picked up at the Barnes & Noble store where I worked. Not that long ago, a friend of mine invited me to her Yoga class. Needless to say, I am hooked and now attend two classes a week. For me, Yoga not only helps me in strength training but in stress relief as well.

Yoga often is looked down upon because many people assume that Yoga is just stretching and chanting. Those who believe this have not tried Yoga. The different poses that we practice hit certain areas of our bodies from abs to legs, and even our back. I don’t know how many times I’ve come home feeling like I’ve just discovered some new muscle in my body.

For me, Yoga is a great stress reducer.  In order to correctly do the moves, I have to focus on what my body is telling me and that means shutting off my inner “chatter box”. The deep breathing exercises not only help me to move deeper into a move but relax.

Give Yoga a try! Start with a DVD, YouTube video, or join a class. I’ve enjoyed Yoga for many years and you may find you’re a Yogi too. Also, I choose some very cool Yoga clothing, take a look!

Indie Girl Fashion Picks, “Yoga Clothing”. – https://indiegirlblogs.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/indie-girl-fashion-picks-8/

Written By: Kristy Trowbridge

One thought on “In 250 Words or Less

  1. I do yoga here and there. I have 2 dvds with Rodney Yee. I ended up borrowing a bunch from the library until I found one I liked.

    And I agree, you find muscles you didn’t know you had. Some of the poses are very tough.

Leave a Reply

