Home » Indie Girl Blogs » Stargazing: A Star Gazer’s Thoughts

Stargazing: A Star Gazer’s Thoughts

The Starry Night, Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890)

The Starry Night, Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890)

During the warmer months of the year, I enjoy sitting out on my porch in the evening with a hot cup of tea and just look at the stars. In no way am I an expert in astronomy but the wonderful thing about star gazing is that you don’t have to be. A little research and a sense of awe and wonder is all you need.

Whenever I gaze up at the sky, it always reminds me how very tiny I am. For me, being a Christian, I see God’s hand in making all those stars and the wonder of His creation. Even if you don’t believe in God, the night sky still captures us in its vastness and greatness. Isn’t it amazing that up above are the great planets that captivated people so much they named them after Greek gods? Even those mysterious galaxies have inspired many a writer to wonder about space exploration.

“A sense of awe and wonder is all you need.”

I’m always amazed at how entertaining looking at those bright dots are. Gazing at those white circles of lights scattered over a black backdrop puts you in a different state of mind. When you think about how we are so entertained by TV and video games it’s amazing that the night sky can hold our attention and there isn’t even a theme song playing in the background! I enjoy so much just sitting in my chair trying to guess at which constellation a group of stars are or if I just saw a comet or an airplane. It is not unusual for me to spend a long time on that porch in my bathrobe.  I’m sure the neighbors think I’m crazy.

Sometimes I think we become so caught up in science fiction that we forget the science that is right outside. I know how incredibly cool it is to see space ships fly through space in the movies but do we pay attention to the real space above us? Think of all the work astronomers do in studying the planets and the stars and the discoveries that are being made. As much as I love science fiction, I have to remind myself that science is going on right here and right now.

“We all should be in awe of something bigger than ourselves,..”

After a long day of work or when I am going through something difficult, it helps to just sit outside all by myself and spend a few minutes looking up at the “living art” of the night sky. Many artists have tried to capture the mystery of the night sky. Van Gogh painted his view of the night sky in The Starry Night and in Starry Night over the Rhone, which are two of my favorite paintings. The night sky has been an inspiration for all artists and continues to be so.

We all should be in awe of something bigger than ourselves, gazing at something we can’t quite understand, and seeing something that both puts us in our place yet provides us with a sense of peace. There is nothing better to do before bed than taking the time to just sit still and do a little star gazing. Star gazing helps remind me that the night sky is always changing.  Whether I’m there or not, it will continue to change and inspire.

Starry night over the Rhône, Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890

Starry night over the Rhône, Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890

Writeen By: Kristy Trowbridge

Vinvent Van Gogh Information & Pictures:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_van_Gogh

One thought on “Stargazing: A Star Gazer’s Thoughts

  1. I love looking at stars too especially when I’m out in the country where you can see more. I’m also a big fan of cloud gazing on a sunny day.

Leave a Reply

